Obstacles as springboards for creativity

I first saw Paul Sika’s work on CNN’s Inside Africa and was immediately drawn to it.

The Cote d’Ivoire based artist uses actors and staged sets to create vivid scenes that somehow convey the beautiful contradictions of African life.

In his work I see religious symbolism, the importance of community, and the idea of the savior being the ordinary men. A self-taught fashion and advertising photographer (and as an African), his work is deeply saturated in colour and highlights magestically the beauty and vibrancy that can be found in the poorest bidonville’s of Abidjan (or Kibera or Kisenyi).

His book, “At the heart of me” just came out and you can find more of his work at his website.

9 thoughts on “Obstacles as springboards for creativity

  1. LOL cute.. I surely am proud .. I am soooooo impressed , he made Abidjan look amazing!! 😀 I love it!! i cant wait to see more of his work!! 😀

  2. Ok, I thought you were going to say something about saving the rainforest and blue people 🙂

    I hope this marks something new in African Art because I think its beautiful, commercial, modern and yet authentically African

Leave a Reply

